Celebrating love with an island getaway

Ferry to Vashon Island

Vashon Island is definitely not a tropical island!

Last weekend my husband and I hit our 7th year marriage milestone. To celebrate, I forced him to make my favorite dinner ever — chittara pasta with roasted cauliflower, chili flakes, bread crumbs, Parmesan and a LOT of olive oil. (Side note: This was the first time I’ve actually watched him make this dish and I have to say after I saw the sheer amount of oil in it, I almost wished I hadn’t helped him make it. My god!)

But besides a fantastic dinner and a bottle of bubbles, we laid low for the day, saving our energy for this weekend instead. My husband took a very rare Saturday off and, thanks to Labor Day, we have two blissful days planned on Vashon Island in Washington.

The island is known for having many farms so local produce, meat, cheese and dairy is a big deal here. There are also several wineries, a brewery and a distillery so you know where I’m planning to visit! There’s also beaches, hiking trails and parks to explore. Plus the wonderful smell of sea salt in the air.

We drove up from Portland this morning, making it through the first fog and rain of the summer season. We caught the ferry in West Seattle and arrived on the island a mere 20 minutes later.

Very excited to check out everything Vashon has to offer!

11 thoughts on “Celebrating love with an island getaway

  1. Happy Anniversary! Sounds like a wonderful getaway planned. And also yum to the anniversary meal. My husband and I celebrated 20 years (!) and our big trip will be the Kentucky Bourbon Fest in just a few short weeks. So glad we can all kick up our heels a bit. Easy to get dragged down with work, etc, so might as well celebrate the good stuff!

    • Thank you! I’m loving the trip so far — though all we’ve done is eat! (Never a bad thing though, right?) Hoping today to get out and hike around the island. Then it’s off to the distillery, winery, coffee shop….Congrats on 20 years! And yay to a Bourbon Fest. While that sounds terrible to me (with my fear of brown liquor) I know you’ll have a blast. =)

    • Thanks! =) And I know — it looks so gloomy! It’s funny though because after living on Kodiak, views like this just make me feel happy, like I’ve come home. I love the heat, but there’s just something about the overcast-y northwest fog that gets to me. Though in 2 days, I’ll be dying for sunshine!

  2. Pingback: Day 1 in Seattle and Vashon: Doing what we do best…eating! | Attempts in Domesticity

  3. Pingback: State Fairs and a crazy chaotic state of affairs | Attempts in Domesticity

Leave a comment, question or reply!

