The Ultimate Summer Quencher: Watermelon Agua Fresca

Watermelon Agua Fresca

While I ate my share of fancy food in Austin, it’s a simple food cart that has been on my mind since we left. At Veracruz All-Natural, the migas breakfast tacos were unbelievably fantastic, which makes sense since they border on legendary, but it was the watermelon agua fresca that inspired obsession.

It could have been because we had drank a good amount the night before and then walked 2 miles in 90 degree weather to the cart, but one sip of that agua fresca was enough to knock my socks off. Sadly it’s one of my biggest vacation regrets that we never made it back for a second one.

And oh, we wanted to — in fact, every other day we tried to plot a trip back to the cart. But every time something else distracted us (either in the form of brisket or beer).

To make it up to me, last weekend my husband brought me home a huge watermelon. We shared a meaningful look and then I immediately turned to google.

Happily, there’s not much to making a great agua fresca (though I still hold Veracruz’s up to level far above just ‘great’).

You need a watermelon, some sugar, water and a lime. And a blender. It’s that easy.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

Watermelon Agua Fresca

Watermelon Agua Fresca

Homemade Watermelon Agua Fresca

Serves 2

  • 2 cups cold, ripe watermelon, diced
  • 1/8-1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 lime
  • Ice

Put first three ingredients in a blender. Blend until smooth and slightly frothy. Taste for sweetness, adjust as needed. Add a generous squeeze of lime. Pour into glass with ice, garnish with lime and serve.

For a super refreshing, more “slushie” version, freeze the diced watermelon for an hour prior to blending.

Optional: Add booze! I have no doubts this would taste delicious with alcohol.

Now go forth and quench your summer thirst with the best thing possible. Or, if you are lucky enough to live in Austin, visit Veracruz All-Natural and drink one for me!

Watermelon Agua Fresca

18 thoughts on “The Ultimate Summer Quencher: Watermelon Agua Fresca

  1. Definitely like! So glad we’re looking at summer again. Your watermelon drink looks like the perfect sipper for the season. And yes, I’d add a shot of vodka. Even better, St. Germain ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a recipe! And I’m so glad you were able to recreate that first drink – that must have been so satisfying! I adore watermelon and usually devour it so quickly that there isn’t time to turn it into anything but I’d definitely make an exception for this recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment, question or reply!

