Nothing says spring like lemons & asparagus

Creamy spring pasta with lemon, parsley and asparagus

Creamy spring pasta with lemon, parsley and asparagus

I love lemon pasta — in fact, it’s even made it onto this blog before in the way of a baked lemon pasta. And while it was delicious, it hasn’t stopped me from exploring other renditions of lemony carb-filled goodness.

Which is why I felt the overwhelming need to try out a recipe for Spaghettini with Creamy Lemon Sauce from Liz of My Favourite Pastime. Liz makes all sorts of fabulous looking food but I just couldn’t get this particular pasta dish out of my mind. Maybe it was because she mentioned making it once with coconut milk instead of cream, which really piqued my interest.

Ad while I am still very curious about using coconut milk in this, I thought for my initial attempt I should go straight for the cream. After all, cream plus cheese plus butter must equal delicious. That combination has never steered me wrong before!

I did, however, stray just enough to add in some blanched asparagus. I splurged on a gorgeous organic bunch from the market and their flavor, pumped up by the lemon in the pasta, was divine. This meal, eaten on a surprisingly sunny spring day, was the perfect dinner to make my Monday less painful.

You can find the recipe at the link to Liz’s page, but here’s the basic breakdown:

Vivid veggies make me smile!

Vivid veggies make me smile!

Whole wheat thin spaghetti

Whole wheat thin spaghetti

Pasta being tossed with reduced cream, butter and Parmesan

Pasta being tossed with reduced cream, butter and Parmesan

I love being able to sit outside in April!

I love being able to sit outside in April!

Spring Pasta with Lemon and Asparagus Spring Pasta with Lemon and Asparagus

Also yay -- the first bloom in my iris patch!

Also yay — the first bloom in my iris patch!

26 thoughts on “Nothing says spring like lemons & asparagus

            • Ha! We are drinking margaritas in the office today but it’s the most tragic bar set up ever b/c, well, we are in an office. We have tequila, limeade concentrate (much easier/cheaper than juicing), Orangina (instead of triple sec) and lime bubbly water. It’s surprisingly delicious. In all seriousness though, try making them with lemon if you haven’t already. I am lime-obsessed but I really liked the lemon in there.

            • I have a friend who makes them with limeade concentrate and I told her if she ever did that again I was going to de-friend her. (For real!!!)

    • People who don’t like lemons are not friends of mine! I am a bit overly obsessed with citrus on all levels though. Never without a lime or lemon in my fridge. And thanks, I have a huge patch of irises and every spring they make me happy. =)

  1. Ha ha you’ve cracked me up ” cream plus cheese plus butter must equal delicious” I totally agree with you. The combination is awesome. Thanks so much for making the Spaghettini and for advertising it on your blog. I really appreciate and hope that you enjoyed the meal. And by the way, the addition of asparagus is a great idea!

    • Cream, butter and cheese are basically one of my main food groups! =) Thanks for the inspiration — I’m going to making this again very soon. It’s like a plate full of sunshine!

Leave a comment, question or reply!

