Quinoatmeal: A protein powerhouse of a breakfast

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal with Almond Milk and Cinnamon

As far as cleanses go, the Bon Appetit Food Lover’s Cleanse is an easy one for me to follow. They know their audience well — the 14-day eating plan allows for four cocktails a week and gives the exception for a morning cup of coffee. Which is good news for me because two weeks without caffeine would lead me into a deep dark place that even sprouted lentils couldn’t save me from.

I’m also very thankful that the recipes that Bon Appetit included in the cleanse are (so far) very good. I made this lovely and filling quinoa-oatmeal for Day 4 and was incredibly happy with how it turned out.

The quinoa is rinsed and left to soak overnight with steel-cut oats, reducing the morning cooking time. The next day, the mixture is brought to a boil. Add in some almond milk, cinnamon and salt and after 10 minutes, breakfast is ready! I topped my bowl (as recommended) with toasted pecans and half a cup of shredded apple for sweetness.

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal with Almond Milk

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal with Almond Milk

Oh yes, and I served it with extra almond milk for a creamy porridge consistency.

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal

Apple Pecan Quinoatmeal with Almond Milk and Cinnamon

The quinoa packs a protein punch that is perfect for me — since I bike 8 miles to work Monday through Friday, I need a lot of energy in the morning. And it’s easy to make a big batch of this at a time, reheating a portion each day with a little almond milk or water. Even after the next ten days are up, this breakfast is going to be making routine appearances in my life.

15 thoughts on “Quinoatmeal: A protein powerhouse of a breakfast

  1. lovely 🙂 Glad to see others looking further than oatmeal for a morning porridge. Fun to take any whole grain–barley, farro, wheatberry etc as you said, and cook them overnight in a slowcooker, then accessorize with honey, maple syrup, almond milk, soynuts, whatever. Thanks for the reminder. Been on an egg and toast kick lately, but you’re turning me in the cooked grain direction. Yay!

    • I get stuck in breakfast ruts pretty easily. I was on a big peanut butter toast kick for like…umm…a year. This is nice because not only is it shockingly good but it’s so filling I don’t start thinking about lunch an hour later. I bought some Bob’s Red Mill 10-grain hot cereal yesterday. Going to try it out this weekend. It’s got all kinds of fun grains in it. =)

  2. I think you need to just come and cook for me! I did buy some quinoa today though. I’m trying parts of the cleanse — at least some of the sides. But if you would cook for me, I could maybe do more of it!

    • what have you tried? Think you’d really like the miso sesame dressing and the chimichurri for the steak would be really good on chicken, fish or veggies. I didn’t care for the green tahini dressing very much but everything else has been delicious.

    • I’d go crazy too with no caffeine! I need at least a cup to feel human in the morning. This is a nice cleanse bc it focuses on whole grains, lean proteins and lots and lots of veggies. But it’s got fun snacks (chocolate coconut bark) so it’s not too torturous to follow. =)

  3. I’ve made quinoa puddings instead of rice puddings before, so why not quinoa oatmeal! Here in France it is impossible to find steel-cut oats, you either get the meal or the whole groats, but there are lots of other whole grains out there! I like all your additions too. Happy New Year, and happy cleanse too!

    • Thanks! This was really a surprising breakfast — I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. It would probably be just as tasty made only with quinoa or with some cooked wheatberries added in since they have such a textural “pop.” I’m going to have to look into quinoa pudding. I love rice pudding so it sounds like a great change of pace. =)

  4. Pingback: A tropical breakfast to warm up the chilliest of winter mornings | Attempts in Domesticity

  5. Pingback: Sometimes cleaning the fridge can lead to delicious things… | Attempts in Domesticity

  6. Pingback: A happy {sweet potato} hash worth waking up for | Attempts in Domesticity

Leave a comment, question or reply!

