Hi-ho brigadeiros!

My newest obsession

My newest obsession

After the last few weeks of pure indulgence in my life, I was trying really hard to be good this week. I had lofty goals involving a veggie-only diet detox, cutting back on the beer and exercising daily. I can proudly say the last two items were fairly easy to achieve, but the healthy eating part proved to be a serious failure — and sadly I have no one to blame but myself.

See, I kept thinking about this recipe I had torn out of an old issue of Food & Wine. Accompanying it was a big glossy picture of delicious looking confections coated in cinnamon and nuts that I just couldn’t shake from my mind. Finally I broke down and thus began my downward spiral into the land of brigaderios, aka Brazilian truffles.

I should mention that at the very last minute I diverged from the intended recipe to this one. It had awesome step-by-step pictures to go with it and used regular cocoa powder instead of white chocolate which helped swing my vote.

Regardless of the minor differences in the recipes, these delightful little gems are incredibly easy to make. This batch consisted of one 14-ounce can of sweetened condensed milk, 1/2 cup of cocoa powder and 2 TBS butter. Melt the concoction down on low-medium heat for 10-20 minutes until it’s very thick (stirring often), chill and roll. Seriously, there can be nothing easier than this.

Oh and in case you’re wondering how they taste, they are insanely sinfully good. Think of a cross between brownie batter, fudge and chocolate caramel. Resistance is futile.

Which is really bad news for my dreams of a healthy diet plan. Oh well. As a co-worker said to me, hello winter weight…

I didn’t take any pictures of the process (again the link has an excellent tutorial that would be tough to beat) but the results were so gorgeous that I took tons of pictures…enjoy!

sprinkle brigaderios

sparkly brigaderios

These are the classic style, with simple chocolate jimmies.

These are the classic style, with simple chocolate jimmies.

brigadeiros

So colorful and pretty!

Brigaderios!

9 thoughts on “Hi-ho brigadeiros!

  1. Condensed milk, cocoa and butter — those are three of the pillars of a healthy diet! I bet you could coat those with all kinds interesting things! (crushed Heath Bar, gold leaf, chili powder, dare I say… bacon!?)

  2. Jimmies!! I miss that word. Here they are called sprinkles. For me they will always be jimmies. Those lovely little balls look delicious!!

  3. Seconding the cheer for “jimmies.” Love it! But mostly I heart your Brazillian truffles. lol, resistance is futile. For that reason, I will simply enjoy them by occasionally looking at your photos throughout the day. Can’t afford the calories right now. But one day… Thanks for sharing an awesome discovery. There’s not even a word for how good they must be.

Leave a comment, question or reply!

