Mr. Wonderful has arrived…and he’s a keeper!

White Cake with Strawberry Freezer Jam

Mr. Wonderful White Cake with Strawberry Freezer Jam

I made this cake a month ago, but summer is flying by so quickly, it feels like it was just last weekend! Yesterday I was actually surprised to see all the “back to school” stuff at the stores and then it hit me that it’s nearly mid-August. Summer, where did you go?

Luckily in times of crisis (and yes, summer ending is a crisis!), I find it’s best just to enjoy the moment and eat some cake…especially if it’s this cake. I made this berry-licious treat for my family reunion and let me tell you, it was gone so fast I barely got a piece. I think that’s the ultimate compliment, right?

Not only is this cake perfect for a summer get-together, but it’s also crazy easy to make. Seriously. I took the train to Tacoma, not arriving until 9pm and the reunion started the next day at noon. I had an idea of what I wanted to make, something sweet involving the jar of homemade strawberry freezer jam that I had brought along, but I didn’t really have a game plan.

On the trip up, I kept telling myself, just make it easy. Go to the store and buy a cake mix. No one will ever know and, as long as it has sugar in it, no one will care. But I remembered that I had seen a simple white cake recipe (hilariously named Mr. Wonderful White Cake) on one of my favorite blogs, food for fun, so I figured I’d give it a try.

The recipe had two key things working for it: it is easy enough to whip up before bedtime and most likely you already have everything you need for it in your pantry. These are two essential components to last-minute cake making!

And here’s how it went down:

Two round cakes were baked in my grandma's awesome vintage pans

Two round cakes were baked in my grandma’s awesome vintage-y pans

The middle layer -- a combination of vanilla frosting, lemon zest and strawberry jam

The middle layer — a combination of vanilla frosting, lemon zest and strawberry jam

In a fit of honesty, I will totally cop to getting all Sandra Lee with my frosting. In true semi-homemade style I took a can of vanilla frosting and doctored it up with lemon juice and lemon zest. The citrus with the strawberry really made it taste bright and summery.

The jam I made was sinfully sweet...perfect to go with such a simple cake.

The jam I made was sinfully sweet…perfect to go with such a simple cake.

Ready for the frosting!

Ready for the frosting!

Mr. Wonderful White Cake

Mr. Wonderful White Cake

Mr Wonderful White Cake

Now here’s where I could have just left things, after all the cake was pretty and pristine…but dare I say it was a bit boring? And I had just a little bit of jam left. Not enough to bring home but too much to throw away…So after a serious 15-minute debate (because I’m weird like that…really, I even texted people to ask their opinions!) I decided to go for the jam drizzle.

Mr. Wonderful White Cake with Strawberry Freezer Jam

Mr. Wonderful White Cake with Strawberry Freezer Jam

I think it was successful. What do you think? Did it look better white and dreamy or pink and festive?

Yum! Mr Wonderful White Cake

Regardless it was yum!

20 thoughts on “Mr. Wonderful has arrived…and he’s a keeper!

  1. Ohhhhh my. This looks to die for. You are so good at swirling the frosting on! Mine always looks like a kindergartener’s finger painting…

  2. Pingback: Keeping my word would be easier if it was February 31st | Attempts in Domesticity

Leave a comment, question or reply!

