One of the best ideas I’ve ever had…

Malibu Rum, Pineapple and Coconut Popsicles

Malibu Rum, Pineapple and Coconut Popsicles

A few weeks ago, while reading a blog, I came across the idea of making popsicles with coconut water for a healthy, refreshing summertime treat. And although it sounded like delicious concept, it seemed a little tame to me.

Coincidentally I had also seen something intriguing on Pinterest — pineapple chunks soaked in coconut rum, a boozy, refreshing summertime treat.

Aha, I thought, now we’re getting somewhere!

I started by mincing the pineapple into very small cubes, which I let soak in Malibu rum for two hours. I also grabbed a can of coconut water with pulp and a can of coconut milk, just for extra oomph. I wanted the popsicles to be relatively guilt-free so I only used a small swirl of the milk in each one.

In case you’re counting, that leaves more calories for booze!

Fill the popsicle molds about a quarter of the way with the rum-soaked fruit, draining excess rum off (into your glass!). You don’t want it too boozy or it won’t freeze. Next pour in a spoonful or two of coconut milk. Top with coconut water. Freeze until solid. Enjoy!

Good to the last drop!

Good to the last drop!

10 thoughts on “One of the best ideas I’ve ever had…

  1. oh yes, that looks good to the last drop for sure! Love how you thought this one through. Seems the vacay unleashed even more creative juices 🙂 Now. Think of all the variations on this one–different boozes for soaking, different fruit. Could keep you busy all summer 😉

  2. Pingback: pop! goes the cocktail | food for fun

Leave a comment, question or reply!

