Day 1: Coming home to Alaska, spotting the trip’s first bear

We saw this black bear as we were getting off the tram in the Alyeska Resort near Girdwood, AK.

We spotted this black bear as we were getting off the tram in the Alyeska Resort near Girdwood, AK.

If you didn’t already know it, I’m originally from Kodiak, Alaska. Sadly, I haven’t been back to my home state in years. Feeling a little homesick for the Last Frontier, I booked a trip to see my family in Anchorage. I’ll be flying back to Portland on Sunday, but until then expect some fun Alaska posts. Anchorage isn’t quite Kodiak, but the snow-capped mountains, rocky beaches and tons of mosquitos still feel like home.

14 thoughts on “Day 1: Coming home to Alaska, spotting the trip’s first bear

  1. I have some friends at my college who also grew up there, and they said that they used to get chased by bears occasionally when picnicking or ATVing. Keep both eyes peeled, and your shoes laced up!

    • This is the closest I’ve ever been to one, though I did know a girl in high school who was tree-ed by one. The people working at the resort today kept warning people to stay back. I just made sure I was standing behind some of the slower looking ones! =)

    • Went to culinary school in Portland after college at Humboldt State. It was a nice combo of Northern Cali and Alaska — a natural fit. I ended up staying, been living there 11 years now.

  2. Ack! I am a trail runner and apparently there is no shortage of bears here. So far I have only seen snakes (BIG snakes!) but ever time I run through bear filled areas I run like someone is chasing me!

      • We joke about root snakes and bear stumps. Every time I look down at one of those squiggly roots I freak out then I realize it’s not really a rattlesnake. Small price to pay for running in the beautiful mountains!

    • Yeah but to be fair, I grew up in Kodiak (home to the world’s largest bears) and I never saw one in 18 years! So you’re pretty safe. This was just a little black bear and he was so cute. Glad you’re liking the posts!

Leave a comment, question or reply!

