Tales from the Garden: Sunchoke Harvest

I have never been successful in growing things that I can actually eat. My rather large strawberry patch produced one puny berry this year and in consecutive years, my husband and I killed three rosemary bushes. But my luck has changed!

This spring, a friend gave me a sunchoke plant. I was apprehensive but optimistic.
I love sunchokes and was very excited at the prospect of being able to grow my own. The best thing about these plants is that they are regenerative. Just leave some in the dirt and the next spring, another plant will grow.

At any rate — my plant took off and grew like crazy, towering over our 8-foot tall fence. I was so proud!

Once the sunflower-like flowers died, it was time to pull the plant up and see what it produced. Here’s what I found nestled in the ground:

Can’t wait to do some cooking!

13 thoughts on “Tales from the Garden: Sunchoke Harvest

  1. Wow, that’s great!! I’ve actually never had sunchokes before. I’ve heard them talked about on the food shows (people always seem to make sunchoke purees), but never knew what the actual plant looked like. What are you planning on doing with it?

    • You totally should! They are so easy and low maintenance! I was nervous when my friend gave me the plant because I thought for sure it wouldn’t grow (i have really killed a lot of plants in my life) so when I uprooted it, I did a little happy dance. =)

  2. Pingback: Rhizome Roulette: Are sunchokes worth the gamble? | Attempts in Domesticity

Leave a comment, question or reply!

