Things that make me happy: Adventures with Friends

My friend DB and I are big on adventures. So when he emailed me a link to Syun Izakaya, a sushi place in Hillsboro, I made us a reservation immediately. It was a journey — an hour each way using public transportation. What awaited us though was well worth the effort. The sushi, sashimi and grilled mackerel were delicious and the menu was extensive, ensuring that we sat there for several hours eating and drinking (hence our use of the MAX).

Here’s one of my favorite pictures from the night:

A Pretty Plate of Pickles: So far we haven’t come across a pickle plate that we haven’t ordered. No matter how full we are, there seems to always be room for a pickle.

One of the best things about our meal was our discovery of Teba Gyoza, a Frankensteinian dish of gyoza-stuffed chicken wings. The wings are partially deboned (just the wing tip is left) and the midjoint is stuffed with porky garlicky goodness. Then the whole thing is fried. Yes, it was borderline crazy and yes, it was amazing.

Teba Gyoza (stuffed chicken wings) — with dippy sauce and fried tarro chips

* As a side note, I did some internet digging about these crazy little guys. If you ever decide to make them (DB??), here’s a good site to look at. *

9 thoughts on “Things that make me happy: Adventures with Friends

    • seriously you wouldn’t want to make these? the next time we do dumplings we could leave some mix out and just do a handful…yum! I might have shrimp head pic but it’d be on my phone so quality not as good. I’ll dig around for it. Who knew a shrimp head could be that good?

  1. looks good, but any ‘izakya’ like that in Japan would certainly not be called an ‘izakaya’…just a restaurant! lol. I went to a place in Berkely that was pretty close to the izakaya style in Japan.

  2. Wow, those teba gyoza sound amazing! I love Japanese food and often crave the comforting ten don or tonkatsu that my mom would make for us growing up 🙂

    • Yes, anything fried can certainly be comforting! I love tonkatsu but I had never heard of ten don (and google kept helpfully guiding me toward “tendons” as in muscles). Finally I found some recipes and it sounds delicious!

Leave a comment, question or reply!

