Super Fabulous Farro Salad

Farro Salad with Dried Cherries and Almonds

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, my love for farro knows no bounds. And while I still use it most often in place of rice in a multitude of dishes, I also love it used in a hearty salad, maybe on greens, maybe under some meat.

I made this particular version of a farro salad the other day when I needed something to accompany a pork tenderloin dish I was trying out. I had clipped a recipe for “Farro Salad with Winter Fruits” from an issue of Food & Wine and thought it would be perfect. Since I, of course, had forgotten to buy a few ingredients before starting, I did end up making some small changes as I went along. While I can’t speak for how good the recipe is as written, I can say the final product it inspired was nothing less than fabulous.

And it was very pretty to boot!

Who could resist this beauty?

Domesticity’s Fabulous Summer Farro Salad

  • 3 Cups Cooked Farro (I never measure before I cook farro, but I’m guessing you’ll need about 1 1/2-2 cups of raw farro. If that gives you more than needed, make more salad! Or use it in a soup, stew, curry, whatever.)
  • 1/3 Cup Dried Cherries
  • 1/3 Cup Toasted Slivered Almonds
  • 3 Each Scallions, sliced thinly
  • Zest of 1 Orange and 1 Lemon (plus juice to taste)
  • 1 Small Garlic Clove, minced
  • Tiny Dash of Dijon
  • 1/8 Cup (or so) Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Mint, chopped

I honestly don’t even bother using a separate bowl for the dressing, because I’m lazy and I passionately hate doing dishes. I just mix everything together up to the olive oil, which I slowly drizzle in just until everything is moistened. Then add the mint and give it a few more good stirs.

Presto!

4 thoughts on “Super Fabulous Farro Salad

Leave a comment, question or reply!

