I break for (lemon poppyseed) muffins…

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

I have been crazy busy lately. Partly professionally — my very good friend (and coworker) Ariel just gave birth to a very adorable little boy. Since she’s now on maternity leave, the office has been a bit overwhelmed lately and some days I feel like I’m struggling to stay afloat. She is also part of my sanity at work, so even though it’s only been a week, I have really been missing her.

But I feel just as frazzled in my personal life too, though (at first glance) it’s harder to understand why. I still have my nights off, and spend most of them by myself. Except for my once-a-week TV and dinner date with Oliver. And my usual Saturday cooking shenanigans with DB. And spending Sunday with my husband. And trying to cook, clean, lay in the sun, garden, work out, do laundry, and write this blog. Hm.

So I guess I needed a mental break — hence my rather sporadic writing schedule lately. The good thing, was on this break, I made muffins. Delicious lemon poppyseed muffins.

These (only slightly) sweet little suckers have been stuck in my mind since I saw them weeks ago on a (now defunct) blog I loved to read. They looked so perfect and I hadn’t made muffins in so long — I was basically powerless to resist them.

Do you have the will power to resist these? Yeah, me neither.

The original recipe is from America’s Test Kitchen, a favorite resource of mine, so it’s no wonder these turned out so lovely. I liked that they weren’t cloyingly sweet which helped make for a (fairly) guilt-free breakfast the next morning.

Since I actually made these on the Fourth of July, I decided to be nice and make a bunch of extra mini muffins for my sure-to-be hungover co-workers. After I gave them a layer of icing, I decorated them with red sprinkles and blue raspberry Pop Rocks. I wanted them to be cute and festive, but was worried about the berry taste from the Pop Rocks. That worry was in vain though because they turned out pretty tasty. And they were gone within minutes, so clearly the office staff agreed!

Could you be any more festive? I don’t think so.

Here is the America’s Test Kitchen approved recipe:

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

  • 3 C flour
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 T poppy seeds
  • 1 T grated lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 C plain yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 8 T unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Glaze

  • 1/4 C lemon juice
  • 1/4 C sugar

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease muffin tin or use liners.

Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and poppy seeds in the mixing bowl.

Pour in the yogurt, lemon zest, and eggs and mix until just combined. Then pour in the melted butter, being careful not to overmix.

Bake about 30 minutes or until a skewer comes out with only a few crumbs clinging to it.

While the muffins bake, combine the lemon juice and remaining sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat until a light syrup forms.  Brush the syrup over the warm muffins.

Devour!

4 thoughts on “I break for (lemon poppyseed) muffins…

  1. Glad to see you made these! I’ve been thinking about these muffins recently too, but it’s really too hot for me to turn on the oven!

Leave a comment, question or reply!

