Lesson Learned: Smoked Meat at Schwartz’s

So a while ago I posted about a colossal mistake I made while in New York City. I committed a sin that I still have a hard time thinking about. On our final day in the city, we made the pilgrimage to Katz’s Deli where I ordered a cheeseburger. Yes, yes, I know. It was a terrible idea but I was really too hungover to think straight and so I ordered poorly.

Today I knew better.

Schwartz’s is on everyone’s list of places you must eat while visiting Montreal, and my husband and I were determined to eat there at some point on our vacation. So today we headed straight from our hotel to St. Laurent and waited in a short line to get our food to go. Our order was simple: two smoked meat sandwiches and a cherry soda. Of course, it should be noted, Schwartz’s doesn’t even give you the opportunity to make a regretful decision. Their menu is concise.

We walked out ten minutes later, past the huge line of people waiting to be seated, clutching a brown bag full of meat gold. We meandered over to the entrance of the Parc du Mont-Royal and then took a nice seat in the shade to enjoy our lunch.

It was divine.

When the meat is this tender and juicy, all you need is a squirt of mustard.

4 thoughts on “Lesson Learned: Smoked Meat at Schwartz’s

  1. Oh, this brought back great memories! I used to live in Montreal and Schwartz’s was a regular and happy part of the experience. Yummmm!

    • I believe it! If I lived here, I can imagine I would want it at least once every two weeks. The smoked meat was SO good! We don’t have anything near that delicious in Portland. Maybe I need to smuggle one for the flight home!

  2. You don’t have to smuggle it – just pack it for your meal on the plane. It’s not like you get fed on a flight anymore! Glad you liked it – I do too. My daughter lives in Montreal so I get to indulge now and again.

    • Oh — good idea! It will definitely beat the pants off any airport food that we might come across. You’re lucky to have an excuse to visit here — we leave tomorrow and already want to plan our next trip back! Montreal has been a blast!

Leave a comment, question or reply!

